First blog post (Oh Dear)

Oh dear is right. Fun fact: I’ve been wanting to create this blog for a few months but I’ve been too lazy to actually set it up. Really. Like today, I created it and then I had to pick a header image and it took me FOREVER. An image that represents me? I can’t even represent me accurately other than screeching pterodactyl noises. Jeez. Anyway after about ten years of deliberation, I have settled on a painting I like by Childe Hassam called The Water Garden cause it looks like a comfy safe place for me to lay down and read. Unless there are ticks there. I hate bugs. Anyway, I’ll start with a lil bit about myself for all those out there who don’t know me. Hi I’m Sammi! I’m a junior Writing, Literature, & Publishing major and Psych minor at Emerson College in Boston. A lot of this is from the About Me page, but I’ll say it again because why not? I have anxiety, depression, and OCD and have for as long as I can remember. I started treatment a little less than five years ago, but it’s a daily struggle. I have a lot of thoughts about mental illness, from how I’m feeling and how I feel others look at mental illness, and I wanted to blog about it, long story short. Also I think I’m amusing. As in I don’t do anything super wild or out of the ordinary, but it might make for some interesting little giggles. For instance the other day I punched a bear in the face. Just kidding. There are no bears in Boston. And the only Bear Hunt I’ve ever been on is Dr. Jean’s Bear Hunt on Youtube. (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F6OVwsnuX-Y  I’m gonna leave this here for you adventurous types).  No actually I tripped over the sidewalk and laughed to myself and a random man on the street gave me a peculiar look. Hahaha original content here. Ok and some more fun stuff about myself: I love animals, mainly puppies, otters, wolves, armadillos, dolphins, and all big cats! You get the picture. I love movies, mainly the Marvel Cinematic Universe stuff, like the Doctor Strange premiere was the first thing to go in my new planner. Bucky, Loki, and Cap are my favs. Which brings me to Sebastian Stan. Isn’t he funny? Yeah I like him a lot cause he’s very talented and seems like a nice person with a great sense of humor. #TeamBucky. I’m an avid reader of all genres. Expect some book talk in here, cause I always learn lil tidbits about authors and stories that tickle my funny bone. Did you know Franz Kafka used to giggle when he read his stories aloud? If you’ve read Kafka you get why that makes me laugh. I’m a huge fan of Stephen King. Literally I’ve read everything he’s published, and that’s not an exaggeration. When I go back home I’ll post a picture of my bookcase of all my Stephen King books (I have them all) even the special editions. I also love Jenny Lawson because Furiously Happy changed my life and you can see her influence here, except she is much funnier than I and I am perfectly ok with that. For TV shows, I love Stranger Things, Game of Thrones, Bojack Horseman, and The Walking Dead. Ok this is a long ass post because I like to talk about myself. No shame. So I guess that’s it for now and I’ll see you cats later!!

pangolin-in-colour-800x594

A polite lil pangolin to brighten your day

Leave a Reply

