This Election. Sorry not sorry but our Country is not Great

I’m not mincing words and I’m not putting in any funny pictures because this is not funny. I’m not a mean person. I’ve garnered enough self-esteem and self-perspective to know that I am a fundamentally good person.

I have a fun little fact. Hillary Clinton has her fair share of scandals. I’m not saying she’s perfect. I’m not even saying she’s great. Truly, I wish I didn’t have to vote for her. But here’s another fun fact. By nature of running this country, every. Single. Goddamn. MAN. Who has run for president has had their fair share of scandal. I love Obama, and even I know he isn’t perfect.

So why are Hillary’s scandals attracting so much more attention than ever before? Look at the word I bolded above and I’ll let you infer. Because you can, because sexism is obvious, sexism is overt. Watching his speech at 3 am last night I curled up in a ball and cried because I’m a woman who knows the feeling of a white man getting something that I worked harder for and was more prepared for. Say what you want about Clinton, but she is more qualified to be president than Donald Trump. They both have scandals. Clinton has emails, Benghazi, Clinton Foundation, etc. Trump has Trump University, not paying his taxes. Rape. Accusation. Multiple. Rape. Accusations. Rape. Accusations. From a 13 year old. This is ludicrous.

Sexism is the fact that this piece of shit could run into me on the street and think it’s okay to grab my pussy. Oh wait, I bet by his standards he would say I’m ugly or have the face of a pig or some other misogynistic comment about me.

I want to spit in his face, but he isn’t even worth the saliva in my mouth. I am a bisexual, mentally ill woman. I painted my face and took pictures and cried tears of joy when gay marriage was passed. This creature wants to take that away from me. I’ve seen close friends cry tonight. I have fought off two separate panic attacks. All I can say is that I’m afraid. This creature’s hardcore supporters now have the okay from their model, this scumbag of a living being, to use and say, “Our president treats women like objects. Our president wants to separate families.” There are a lot of people who don’t understand that I’m a college student trying to figure out my life and my place in the world. I now have to live with a man running this country who wants to control my body and what I can do with my fucking uterus, and who I can fucking love and marry.

This thing has supporters who like the hashtag #Repealthe19th. This thing has supporters who lynched dummies as a joke. This thing is endorsed by the KKK and Vladimir Putin. This man has mocked a disabled man on live TV and DENIED IT LIVE IN THE THIRD DEBATE. I VIVIDLY REMEMBER WHEN HE SAID THAT AND THAT HE CAN STAND THERE AND SAY “I NEVER SAID THAT” IS APPALLING. I am amazed by the hate in this country. I am amazed that so much of this country doesn’t trust this thing to run the great USA and still went out there and voted for them. Apparently incompetence is more acceptable than scandal. I can’t believe I have to say that at least Hillary knows how to manage a political situation. This man wants nuclear weapons in the hands of those who should not have that.

THIS THING DOES NOT BELIEVE IN GLOBAL WARMING. 96% of scientists say that global warming is real. With this thing in office, the possibility of global warming happening in my lifetime is incredibly possible. I’ll say this.

When it comes down to it, this domestic and foreign policy talk is bullshit. It means nothing without caring for the environment. How can we live if we’re killing our planet? The answer is we don’t. It’s lose lose. We all die.

Too grim for you? This is what you’ve chosen. There’s this weird idea that this creature will make the country great again. I hope it’s as great as you think, Trump supporters. This election will set us back. This is a disappointment. The world is laughing at us. Did we learn nothing from Brexit? I just have so many things to say, I just can’t fathom this. I’ve spoken to people who voted for this thing because “Hillary is a crook and can’t be trusted.” But you trust him more? Mr. (I’ll repeat), GRAB HER BY, THE PUSSY?! I’m sickened by this whole election. I’m disappointed in our country. This is not the kind of election I was looking forward to participating in. There are people afraid to wake up tomorrow. Hillary doesn’t inspire fear for your life, your home. People are telling their minority friends to “Be safe”. What is wrong with this picture? Everything. As human beings we shouldn’t feel so quick to throw away entire groups just because they’re different. These groups make up our melting pot of a country. Undocumented workers? They take the jobs that us privileged white people don’t even think about taking. Swallow that pill.

People will call me immature. People will say, “Sammi, but you’re not considering this”. You know what? I don’t care. I. Know. Hillary. Sucks. But here’s a “fun fact”. I’ll take Hillary’s white feminism over Trump’s misogyny any goddamn day of the week. I’m angry. I’m very angry. And I won’t acknowledge him as my president. I won’t call him President. This man is not fit. I could’ve respected any other Republican nominee. Any of them. I’m not a sore loser to conservatives and Republicans. My family are conservatives and Republicans, and I love them all so so much, they’re the most important people in the world to me. But I won’t ignore the fact that I’m afraid of the bullshit I’m about to face in the world now that there is a sexist, racist, homophobic, Islamophobic dick in the White House. This is not what our Founding Fathers wanted.

And while I’m on a roll I’ll throw in my two cents about the Second Amendment. No one wants to take away your guns. The only guns that need to go are automatic ones, because you don’t need those. This amendment was made when we used MUSKETS FOR CHRIST’S SAKE. Single shot guns that can’t kill dozens of people at a time. Keep your goddamn handguns, but jesus, do we need automatic rifles?

I’m sick of this. I’m sick of this. I want nothing else to do with this election and I will hit the ground running with protesting and doing everything in my power to fight the evil things this man wants to do and say about groups he’s attacked. I know people who are terrified because they are afraid of conversion therapy. I have friends whose parents and even themselves who may be deported. As soon as I leave this blog post I’m going to meet with a group of fellow students who are upset and crying because they too are part of groups this thing has attacked.

I hope the people ho voted red are happy with their choice, because I’m eager to see how you’ll feel in a few months. You want change. This is the shittiest way we could have gone about this. I will never stop fighting him. I will not acknowledge him. I will not listen to him. He is my enemy and I’m sickened that this thing has even filled me with hate. I’ve never genuinely hated anyone until this thing, and it makes me want to vomit that I hate someone so much. I truly hope America is happy with the choice we just made. I hope no nuclear weapons get aimed at us as a result of this. But I also wouldn’t be surprised.

If there is one positive I can personally draw from this, it is that for the most part I am reacting with anger and a will to promote development in this country. Here’s another fun fact. “America wants change”. I think you missed something. You should want development. Change can be either negative or positive. Development is a positive growth. But don’t worry. This thing will most assuredly bring us change rather than development. But I am not going to sit here and cry anymore. I did that for about an hour tonight and I won’t be passive about this. Expect some fun postmodern fiction from me about the state of this country. Don’t worry, when they get published I’ll absolutely make sure you know. I won’t stand by and watch people suffer because people decided any kind of change was good enough to promote development in this country. I think I’ll actually quote Loki from Thor: The Dark World in here: “Trust my rage”.

And another thing also regarding Hillary. More than half of America on either side of this election is terrified of the other side. Honest to god, What the Fuck is this? How has this country come to this place? Both of these candidates suck. I’ve never seen any level of anxiety like I’ve seen from this election cycle. My therapist managed to schedule me in TODAY. She even offered to call when she gets home from work so that even if there were no available times, we could talk. I woke up today with an anxious stomach unlike anything I’ve felt in a long time. It’s a sense of dread. How did this happen? How has our country decided on these two in the first place? We should have never gotten here. This two party system is broken. I don’t know how to fix it, but if this election cycle, whether your side won or lost, you can’t look at this shitshow and admit that something is diabolically wrong with America, then I don’t know what to tell you.

Goodnight America. I hope you’re happy.

Leave a Reply

